Call For Papers

ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Functional Programming

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA, May 24-26, 1996

The ACM SIGPLAN International Conference on Functional Programming is a new annual conference combining the established LISP and Functional Programming (LFP) and Functional Programming and Computer Architecture (FPCA) conferences. The conference is sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN in association with IFIP WG 2.8 and will take place in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania as part of the Federated Computing Research Conference.

Papers presented at the conference must describe new ideas or experimental results that have not previously been published. Suggested areas for submissions include (but are not limited to) the following: language design; compilation methods; architectural support and interaction; program analysis and optimization; programming logics; program transformation; semantic foundations; type theory; garbage collection and run-time systems; input/output, control, and store effects; extensions for parallelism, non-determinism, and concurrency; implementation paradigms: direct- and continuation-passing, graph reduction, and data flow; parallel and distributed implementations; applications and case studies; and pedagogy. Languages of interest include established languages such as Lisp, Scheme, Sisal, ML, Haskell, and Id, as well as novel designs in the functional programming tradition.

Authors should submit 13 copies of a full conference paper to the program chair at the address below. The length of the paper should not exceed 12 pages typeset 11 point on 16 point spacing. Papers will be judged on relevance, originality, significance, correctness, and clarity. Each paper should explain its contributions in both general and technical terms, clearly identifying what has been accomplished, saying why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work. Authors should make every effort to make the technical content of their papers understandable to a broad audience. Simultaneous submissions to other conferences will not be accepted. In addition, the following information, for each paper submitted, should be sent by electronic mail to a single postal address and electronic mail address for correspondence and complete title, author, and affiliation information.

Submissions must be received by October 27, 1995. The program chair will reject all late or excessively long submissions. Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by December 22, 1995. Final versions of accepted papers must be received by the program chair in camera-ready form by January 27, 1996. Authors of accepted papers will be expected to sign ACM copyright release forms. Proceedings will be distributed at the conference and will be available later for purchase from ACM. They will also appear as a special issue of SIGPLAN Notices.

For submission information and other inquiries contact This call for papers and additional information about the conference can be obtained via the world-wide web or anonymous ftp from:

Program Committee

Luca Cardelli (Digital SRC)
Olivier Danvy (Aarhus Univ.)
Matthias Felleisen (Rice Univ.)
Richard Gabriel (ParcPlace)
Paul Hudak (Yale Univ.)
John Launchbury (Oregon Grad. Inst.)
Peter Lee (CMU)
Atsushi Ohori (Kyoto Univ.)
Didier Remy (INRIA)
John Reppy (AT&T Bell Labs.)
Olin Shivers (MIT)
Andrew Wright (NEC Research)

Program Chair

R. Kent Dybvig
Computer Science Department
Lindley Hall 215
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47405-4101 USA
tel: +1-812-855-8653
fax: +1-812-855-4829

General Chair

Robert Harper
School of Computer Science
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3891 USA
tel: +1-412-268-3675
fax: +1-412-681-5739