CSCI A201/A597

Announcements

Spring 2000


CSCI Departmental Evaluations: Adrian Aseem Francisco

Fri Aug 11
Here's the final with answers.

Final exam in Swain East 140 at 1:30pm.

Second summer session ends.

Thu Aug 10
Lecture notes for today review exercises for the final.

Wed Aug 9
Final exam on Friday moved to Swain East 140 (1:30-3:30pm).

Tue Aug 8
Solutions to THQ9 posted.

Lecture notes for today posted.

I am in Indianapolis in the morning, coming straight to class at 1:30pm.

Mon Aug 7
Lecture notes for today posted.

Sun Aug 6
Here's the final exam with solutions from last semester.

Sat Aug 5
Grades for THQ8 and information on P7 have been posted in MyGrades. I've also prepared the solutions for P9 to post them quickly on Wednesday. Solutions for P6 have been updated. I've put together most of the final exam now, and I hope to start printing it on Monday.

Fri Aug 4
I won't be able to keep my LH016 6-7pm office hour today.

If you need me please come to my office (LH301G) before 5:30pm.

Grades for THQ7 and EEBP information have been posted in MyGrades.

Thu Aug 3
Lecture and lab notes for today posted. We'll use this picture in class.

Wed Aug 2
Since we will be talking about the efficiency of various sorting methods here's an applet that illustrates the point.

Tue Aug 1
Lecture notes for tomorrow posted

Mon Jul 31
Lecture notes for tomorrow posted

Sun Jul 30
Lecture notes for tomorrow posted

Sat Jul 29
All remaining assignments have been posted (see due dates).

Fri Jul 28
Solutions to problem set 7 posted.

Thu Jul 27
Assignment 8 posted.

Lecture notes for today posted (at 12:59).

Wed Jul 26
Lecture notes for today posted (at 12:30).

THQ7 is due Friday at midnight so you can still do it by then.

Also, let's extend programming assignment 7 (which was originally due today at 5pm) so that it can be turned in by Friday at noon (when I will post the solutions).

Tue Jul 25
Lecture notes for today posted.

My office hour in the morning is to be moved to 11:30 as I need to be in Indianapolis in the morning!

Mon Jul 24
Two (small) typos fixed in THQ7_1 and THQ7_3. Thanks to Paul Poole, Bo-Hae Im, Kurniawan Elham and Gyeongja Lee for catching the two typos. The rest of the items should be entirely correct. Please let me know if you find any more typos though.

Grades for THQ6 posted and solutions for it updated.

Sun Jul 23
Midterm grades posted.

Sat Jul 22
If all goes well there will be a guest lecture on Monday. The lecturer will be a bit from Dilbert and a bit from Denmark. The lecture notes for Monday have been posted now, and they reflect it (to some extent). Use chapter 7 in your book to supplement the posted notes, at your convenience. Grades for THQ6 and the midterm will be posted by Monday morning.

Fri Jul 21
Midterm Exam today.

Thu Jul 20
Last solutions for the midterm posted. Midterm info.

Lecture notes for today have been posted

Wed Jul 19

Lecture notes for today have been posted (partially reworked version of lecture notes eight included).

Tue Jul 18
Midterm info. THQ6 hints by Francesco.

Lecture notes for today have been posted!

Mon Jul 17
Lab Notes Ten (of Thursday) give a preview of things to come.

Lecture notes for today have been posted!

Grades for THQ5 have been posted. Annotated quizzes will be returned in class today.

Sun Jul 16
Solutions for Problem Set 5 being posted.

Sat Jul 15
Solutions for THQ5 have been posted.

Fri Jul 14
Here's a sample midterm exam (check inside for solutions).

Thu Jul 13
Problem set 6 posted, has been uploaded into QuizSite.

Lecture notes for today have been posted.

Wed Jul 12
Lecture notes for today have been posted.

Tue Jul 11
Lecture notes for today have been posted.

Help with THQ5 also posted as lab notes of yesterday.

Mon Jul 10
Solutions for problem set 3 finally posted.

Problem set 5 uploaded to QuizSite.

Sun Jul 9
THQ6 posted.

Sat Jul 8
Lecture notes for Monday posted.

Fri Jul 7
THQ5 posted.

Thu Jul 6
Lab notes for today contain hints to all the items in THQ4 and Problem Set 4.

Lecture materials for today posted.

Grades for THQ3 have been posted now.

Wed Jul 5
Grades for THQ2 have been posted now. THQ3 to follow soon.

Win32 tutorial on Java from Sun!

Here's the author's FAQ for the book.

Lecture notes for today posted.

Tue Jul 4
Take home quiz 3 (three) solutions have been posted.

Mon Jul 3
Assignment 4 posted.

Sun Jul 2
Lecture notes for tomorrow posted

Sat Jul 1
Solutions for all twenty problems in problem set 2 completed.

Still grading take home quiz2.

Fri Jun 30
Solutions for problem set 2 and grades for take home quiz 2 will be posted today.

Should you need help at any time please send me an e-mail message.

Thu Jun 29
Lecture and lab notes for today have been sketched.

Wed Jun 28
Solutions for the second take home quiz have been posted.

Lecture notes for today posted.

Tue Jun 27
Problem set 3 uploaded in QuizSite, is due next Tuesday at the end of the day.

Mon Jun 26
There's a typo in the book on problem 2.20 (called Seventeen in our second problem set). Francisco caught the typo and I fixed it on our web site and in QuizSite. I'll mention it in class tomorrow. Meanwhile grades have been posted for the first assignment.

Lab notes for today posted, aim to help with the take home quiz and with each of the assigned problems. Lecture notes for today posted (5, 6/26).

Sun Jun 25
Lecture notes for Tuesday posted (6, 6/27).

Sat Jun 24
Solutions to the first set of problems.

Fri Jun 23
Solutions to the first take home quiz.

Thu Jun 22
Assignment 2 has been posted: THQ2 is ready for printing, and P2 can be retrived (a random problem for each one of you) from QuizSite -- the activity is called "Program2". All problems randomly drawn from the same problem set.

Here's an older document that describes the installation steps if you need to install Java at home (things may have changed since, though; but even if the document is dated it can point you in approximately the right direction.)

All lecture notes and lab notes are now in their final form.

Lab Notes Two have been finished. We're getting closer to the final version of the notes for this week. The first assignment (quiz and program) are due today and tomorrow, and the next one will be uploaded to QuizSite today, by the end of the day.

Wed Jun 21
The "not ready for printing" messages are being removed now and by tomorrow all documents on the web site will be in their final form.

Adrian's morning office hour today moved to 11:30am-12:30.

Tue Jun 20
I need to be in Indianapolis tomorrow morning so I won't be able to keep my office hour in the morning at 10am -- but I come back at 11am or so and I will be available from 11:30am to 12:30 to make up.

Mon Jun 19
QuizSite setup finished for activity "Program1". First assignment posted.

A201 starts. Lecture in LH102, labs in BH118 and BH308.

Fri Jun 16
Second summer session starts.